North East India

Northeast India is the easternmost region of India. This region shares an international border of 5,182 kilometres with the neighbouring countries –with Tibet Autonomous Region, China in the north, 1,640 kilometres with Myanmar in the east, 1,596 kilometres with Bangladesh in the south-west, 97 kilometres with Nepal in the west and

455 kilometres with Bhutan in the north-west. North East India is not just a geographical division but also represents a political administrative region of India. The North East India It comprises eight states namely : Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura.

The states of North Eastern Region are officially recognized under the North Eastern Council (NEC) which was constituted in 1971 by the Government of India as the acting agency for the development of the north eastern states. India’s Look-East connectivity projects connect Northeast India to China and ASEAN countries.

Geographically, North East India seems to have tucked in a corner but has a lot of potential for tourism. The region is not yet exposed and many of the regions are still yet to be explored. However, with the increase in the inflow of tourist in the recent years visiting the region, there is a realization by the local government and the people that tourism is a very important industry for the region.